Travelling to Illinois

Very soon, I get to go to Illinois. Too late for the YarnCon 2014 but still: a good week southwest of Chicago and then 4 days in the Windy City!

Yes – I am excited and I have two questions for you:

(1) Would you know whether I am allowed to bring (circular) knitting needles on board when flying United Airlines?

(2) Where would I go in Chicago in terms of “yarn” (cafés, stores, guild …)

What else is new? I have almost finished the lacy wrap for my host – maybe another inch or two – and will block it tonight. I wanted to give her something that’s nice to have in summer over a dress or a t-shirt and useful in winter (has any winter ever been that cold and long in IL before??), wrapped around neck and shoulders. This is it:

easy lace wrap haekelmonster.comeasy lace wrap haekelmonster.comIt looks like a bug’s parade to me on that picture, crawling north.

Oh yes, I am excited to go …

 

5 thoughts on “Travelling to Illinois

  1. Where will you be in the city? Loopy Yarns is in the South Loop – super friendly ladies with a cozy-feeling but v. spacious store. Lots of Berroco and Cascade, but plenty of really lovely higher-end stuff, too. Windy Knitty is way up on the north side – smaller shop than Loopy, but chock full of a wonderful selection of yarns; staff is crazy friendly there, too.

    As far as needles go, I’ve never had a problem bringing mine, and I’ve read that lots of people print out the TSA page which says they are allowed, and bring that with to the airport, just in case.

    Like

  2. I second Windy Knitty, which is actually right in the neighborhood that you’ll be staying! Very convenient🙂 There is a place called Sister Arts Studio between Windy Knitty and Loopy Yarns, but I think the selection might not be as big/they focus more on classes and events. Also, I’ve never had a problem with needles, but I think that some places might require that the needles be wood or plastic rather than metal.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Windy Knitty | Häkelmonster

Leave a Reply

