My first pair of socks

I have knitted (and finished!) my first pair of socks. Yay!! The pattern was taken from Wendy Johnson’s Socks from the Toe up.

Socks from the Toe up häkelmonster Socks from the Toe up häkelmonster Socks from the Toe up häkelmonster Socks from the Toe up häkelmonster Socks from the Toe up häkelmonster Socks from the Toe up häkelmonsterIf you are interested in knitting socks have a look at Wendy Knits – there are plenty of tips, help, and free patterns.

Other than that: it’s fall outside and weekend inside. Hardly any light and the sky is grey. (Again) zillions of leaves in the garden that I need to rake up, the wood burner is on, guests will be over for tea, and the whole house smells of peanut butter brownies.

Life is good.

 

6 thoughts on “My first pair of socks

    • I didn’t give it much thought to be honest. Is toe up really more complicated than the other way round? I’ll have to try it then.
      My next pair will be the “afterthought heel” where you knit a “tube” and add the heel at the very end.

      Like

  1. I started a pair of socks a month or so ago… I did a heel flap style. And I have decided this will be my one and only adult size socks. I find the progress slow and the mistakes easy😦 maybe it’s because I’m a knitting rookie? Did you find your socks frustrating at all?

    Like

    • Not frustrating but not rewarding either … But that was due to the yarn (I am not a fan of washed-out colors). Hence, I am working on a second pair right now, using self-striping yarn that I really like and a different pattern: each sock is knitted as a tube and the heel has to be added at the very end. So far, curiosity keeps me going.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

