a + b = c

Right after blogging on Sunday I would wind up the unloved remaining sock yarn into one ball.

As I do not have a ball winder I wind up yarn by hand with the help of a cardboard tube that once was the center of a roll of (ordinary household) aluminium foil. All other cardboard tubes did not prove to be sturdy enough or too short.

If you’d like to know more: Here is a tutorial on how to wind a center-pull ball of yarn by hand with the help of a short wooden dowel rod and another one using a toilet paper roll (which is pretty much how I do it).

Then I would knit using DPNs in a size 5 (US 8). Much better – don’t you think?

wristwarmers haekelmonster

K2, P2 ribbing

wristwarmers haekelmonster

K2, P2 ribbing – see the increase?

And as there was still some yarn left, I made a second pair:

wristwarmers haekelmonster

Julius wearing the cabled wrist wamers

Each pair is big enough to fit me and has its distinctive feature even though neither the man nor the boy would see it (no comment here). The first pair has special increases where the thumbs are. The second pair features a right and a left twist. I wonder whether anyone would have seen it with the yarn being so dark …

However, I was pleasantly surprised how well those colors go together!

 

3 thoughts on “a + b = c

Leave a Reply

